Discrimination based on a person’s gender is illegal in Texas and violates both state and federal law. Gender discrimination may include the following:
Sexist comments or jokes;
Failing to hire an individual based on that individual’s sex/gender;
Creating a hostile work environment for individuals of a certain gender;
Denying an employee a pay raise or promotion based on that individual’s sex/gender; or
Providing an employee with negative performance reviews based on that individual’s sex/gender.
State and federal law also prohibit employers from retaliating against an employee who complains about gender discrimination.
A victim of gender discrimination can be of any race. The harasser can be any other employee that you work with, including a co-worker or supervisor. If you believe that you have been discriminated against based on your gender, it is important to complain internally to human resources or other individual(s) designated by your employer to handle employee complaints. It is also important to document any and all events that you believe constitute gender discrimination to best protect your rights.
There are certain time limitations for filing a complaint based on gender discrimination. Under state law, the Texas Commission on Human Rights Act, an individual must file a complaint no later than 180 days after the most recent occurrence of gender discrimination. Under federal law, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, an individual must file a complaint no later than 300 days after the most recent occurrence of gender discrimination. Therefore, it is imperative that you contact a knowledgeable employment attorney as soon as practicable.