Discrimination based on a woman’s pregnancy is illegal in Texas and violates both state and federal law. Pregnancy discrimination may include the following:
Failing to hire a woman because she is pregnant;
Creating a hostile work environment for an employee because she is pregnant or recently gave birth;
Denying an employee a pay raise or promotion because she is pregnant; or
Providing an employee with negative performance reviews based because she is pregnant.
State and federal law also prohibit employers from retaliating against an employee who complains about pregnancy discrimination. If an employer provides leave to employees with disabilities, then the employer must also provide leave to a woman who is pregnant.
The harasser can be any other employee that you work with, including a co-worker or supervisor. If you believe that you have been discriminated against because you are pregnant, it is important to complain internally to human resources or other individual(s) designated by your employer to handle employee complaints. It is also important to document any and all events that you believe constitute pregnancy discrimination to best protect your rights.
There are certain time limitations for filing a complaint based on pregnancy discrimination. Under state law, the Texas Commission on Human Rights Act, an individual must file a complaint no later than 180 days after the most recent occurrence of pregnancy discrimination. Under federal law, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, an individual must file a complaint no later than 300 days after the most recent occurrence of pregnancy discrimination. Therefore, it is imperative that you contact a knowledgeable employment attorney as soon as practicable.